Flapjacks and My New Secret Weapon

This morning I made ‘Flapjacks with a Twist’, which were basically the standard American pancake, with 1/2 the flour substituted for oats that had be whirled in my food processor to make a course flour. I topped them with sauteed apples (sauteed with a splash of water and some cinnamon)

I have a new secret weapon in my arsenal for change, that I did not buy for my 10 year old or even my 12 year old – instead I bought it for my nearly 20 year old son, who has such an adversion to anything healthy that I fear for his children.

Sustained Energy for Kids – a great collection of recipes and sneaky ways to make tasty and (gasp) healthy food that even a 20 year old will eat!

Here’s a recipe very similar to my Flapjack recipe that is sure to be a hit!

Yield: Makes 24 flapjacks – 6 cm in diameter

1 egg, slightly beaten

2 t. sugar (substitute honey as an option)

1 c. low fat milk

1 t. oil (canola, macadamia or peanut)

1 c. cake flour

1 tsp bicarb soda (baking soda)

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 c. oat bran

1 apple peeled and cored

2 sm. green bananas, cut into 24 slices

lemon juice, squeezed over cut fruit

Place egg, sugar (honey) and salt in mixing bowl and beat lightly with spoon

Add half of the milk and oil and mix

Sift flour, baking soda and baking powder together. Stir in gradually to the egg and milk mixture until smooth and lump free

Leave batter to stand 10 minutes to moisten ingredients while you prepare fruit and heat the pan

Grease a non-stick pan with small amount of oil and drop batter into pan. Drop banana and apple into wet side of pancake before flipping

Cook until bubbly on top and slightly browned underneath. Turn and cook until brown.

Repeat until all batter is cooked.

Nutritional note: the fruit helps to lower the GI of the pancake, so do not omit it.  Allergens: wheat, eggs and milk

Nutrients: GI lower (59) Carbs (8g) Protein (1g) Fat (1g) Fibre (1g) KJ (194) GL 5

 

 

Leave a Reply

